CRM

Chasing down “This message has not yet been submitted for delivery” in Dynamics CRM 2011

Check out my latest posts at Automation Creations and my new YouTube Channel covering topics like the following:

  • Terraform
  • Microsoft Azure
  • Infrastructure as Code
  • Cloud Technologies
  • PowerShell
  • And More!

Pending Send Issue

This message has been a reoccurring source of frustration for me at me previous and current jobs. Every once in a while, I’d get a handful of emails that just wouldn’t send. Some times restarting the Email Router service would clear things up but other times it wasn’t quite that easy. I recently just had developer contact me saying that a user had a handful of emails that were stuck in a “Pending Send” status. When I opened one of the emails I got the infamous bar at the top saying “This message has not yet been submitted for delivery“. Great.

Some of the popular troubleshooting suggestions I find are:

  • Check to see if the user is approved to send email. Go to Settings -> Administration -> Users. Select the record for the user in question and click Approve Email. – No Luck
  • Check the users Email Access Configuration by opening up the user’s record and verifying the Email access type – Incoming and Email access type – Outgoing fields are set correctly (Email Router, Forward Mailbox, Microsoft Dynamics CRM for Outlook, etc…). – No Luck
  • Finally, enable logging on the email router (Error sending email in CRM 2011: “This message has not yet been submitted for delivery”). – Still no dice.

After both of us spent a decent amount of time staring at the Pending Send emails, the developer remembered working with one of my co-workers on a similar issue and trying one last thing.

invitestatuscode

InviteStatusCode is a field on the systemuser entity that has deals with CRM Online instances. But when we compared this field for the offending user vs. working users, we found that the offending user had InviteStatusCode set to 0 and the working users were set to 4. After setting the user to 4 and restarting the Email Router, the emails went out almost instantly.

We’re not really sure why this field was even set to 0, but it was. I would be interested in finding out if anyone has had this issue before or if you know more about how this could get set wrong in the first place.

Leave a comment